Calgary Freedom to Read Week
Site map:

Home page
Freedom Manifesto
Contact us
Freedom Links
Banned Books


Fast Forward FFWD


Calgary Public

Writers Guild
of Alberta

Calgary Catholic
School District

Calgary Board
of Education

Alberta Theatre

Owl's Nest Books

Freedom to Read Week
February 20 - March 26, 2011

by Kit Pearson
Calgary Freedom of
Expression Award*
Books Presented to
Calgary City Council
2011 Calgary Mayor
Naheed Nenshi

The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn
by Mark Twain

2009 Garry Ryan
The Golden Compass
by Philip Pullman
2010 the staff and volunteers of
the Calgary Public Library
And Tango Makes Three
by Peter Parnell and
Justin Richardson,
illustrated by Henry Cole.
2009 Garry Ryan
The Golden Compass
by Philip Pullman
2008 Janet Keeping
President, Sheldon Chumir
Foundation for Ethics
in Leadership
Slaughter-house Five
by Kurt Vonnegut, Jr.
2007 Nima Dorjee
Tibetan human
rights activist
You Can't Read This
by Val Ross
2006 Catherine Ford
The Sledding Hill
by Chris Crutcher
2005 Dr. David Swann
by Pablo Neruda
Alice on the Outside
by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor
2004 the late Catherine McKay
owner Pages Bookstore
Asha's Mums
by Rosamund Elwin
Belinda's Bouquet
by Leslea Newman
One Dad, Two Dads, Brown Dad, Blue Dads
by Johnny Valentine

2003 Lynn Foster
Group of Six Billion (GSB) Organizing Committee
Stupid White Men
by Michael Moore
2002 Bob Stallworthy and Tony King
co-founders of Calgary Freedom to Read Week Organizing Committee
Places I Never Meant to Be
edited by Judy Blume.
2001 Gary Dickson
founding President of
Calgary Civil Liberties Association
and Retired MLA
100 Banned Books
edited by Karolides,
Bald & Sova
Harry Potter and the
Philosopher's Stone

by J. K. Rowling
2000 Sue Higgins
alderman & library board member
This Land
1999 Ronnie Burkett
playwright & puppeteer extraordinaire
Great Canadian Books
of the Century

edited by Pollack, Usukawa
& Kenward
1998 Kerry Longpré
bookstore owner & creator
of Sandpiper/Steinbeck Award
Everybody's Favourites
edited by Arlene Perly Rae
1997 Michael Dobbin
actor & director
A History of Reading
by Alberto Manguel
1996 Ken McGoogan
author, editor
The Wars
by Timothy Findley
1995 Lorne MacRae
Who Has Seen the Wind
by W. O. Mitchell
*Originally the Sandpiper/Steinbeck Freedom to Read Award

Most recent update: Sun Feb 13 10:00:33 MST 2011